Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus! By Mo Willems

Dont Let The Pigeon Drive The Bus!Dont Let The Pigeon Drive The Bus! by Mo Willems

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

“Finally a book you can say no to!” This book was enthusically recommended to me by a fellow librarian and after reading it I can see why. The bus driver needs to step away from the bus and asks the reader if they would mind looking after the bus. Just one thing… you cannot let the pigeon drive. As soon as the bus driver steps away the pigeon shows up and asks to drive the bus. The reader has to tell him no over and over again. In the end the pigeon finds a new vehicle he wants to drive… a semi.

The illustrations are simple yet engaging and the book encourages interaction. It also gives kids practice standing up to peer pressure, I mean that pigeon can be very persuasive. Really fun book for story time, but beware kids will be yelling “No!” through the whole book.

View all my reviews

