Murder on the Camps de Mars by Cara Black

e0753d52-55ea-484d-97ee-b695c3769939img400Aimee Leduc’s life is a fast paced mystery at every turn. From her love life to her detective agency there is no time for sleep when a stranger appears at her door and tells her she must follow him to find out a secret regarding her father’s murder.
Without giving to much away let me state that this book is a whirlwind read. There are ups and down and surprises around each corner. I was not familiar with Cara Black’s work until I was given this book to read from Soho Crime. The book jacket description made me agree to read the book but it was the first scene that kept me glued to the book reading late into the night.
Black’s characters are believable and well crafted. Her scene setting is superb. The plot moves quickly and subtle hints and clues are left like baguette crumbs throughout.
My only compliant is that there is a bit of a stall, in an otherwise thrilling book, towards the end (about the last 60 pages). With her daughter just threatened Aimee takes her to a safe house then heads to a friend’s and we sit for too long considering the big reveal is just moments away. The brief pause is not enough to effect my overall enjoyment of the book. I will be locating the earlier books in the series and eagerly awaiting new additions to what I can only imagine is a fantastic series based on the latest offering from the Aimee Leduc Investigation series.
Readers looking for a good crime novel, mystery or a Parisian novel should read this book.
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Note: I was given this book by the publisher to read and review. In no way did that effect the opinions listed here.

